
 
  

Driving Safety – Move Over Law 
 

• Have you seen an emergency vehicle on the side of the road as you drive 
down the interstate?   

• Did you know that the law in Virginia requires you to take action? 
• Do you know what to do if you are faced with the above scenario?    

 
The following is an excerpt from the Virginia State Police website: 
 
§ 46.2-921.1. Drivers to yield right-of-way or reduce speed when approaching 
stationary emergency vehicles on highways; penalties. 
 
The driver of any motor vehicle, upon approaching a stationary vehicle that is 
displaying a flashing, blinking, or alternating blue, red, or amber light or lights as 
provided in § 46.2-1022, 46.2-1023, or 46.2-1024 or subdivision A 1 or A 2 of § 
46.2-1025 shall (i) on a highway having at least four lanes, at least two of which 
are intended for traffic proceeding as the approaching vehicle, proceed with 
caution and, if reasonable, with due regard for safety and traffic conditions, yield 
the right-of-way by making a lane change into a lane not adjacent to the 
stationary vehicle or (ii) if changing lanes would be unreasonable or unsafe, 
proceed with due caution and maintain a safe speed for highway conditions.  
 
Fines and penalties: 
 
First offense = up to a $250 fine 
Second offense = up to $2500 and 1 year in jail 
Court costs =  $62 
 
The take home message is move over one lane or slow down, if you cannot 
make a lane change safely.  Let’s all do our part to keep people safe on the side 
of the road.    
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The contents of the CommonHealth weekly emails may be reprinted from an outside resource in the area 
of health, safety, and wellness and is intended to provide one or more views on a topic.  These views do 
not necessarily represent the views of the Commonwealth of Virginia, CommonHealth, or any particular 
agency and are offered for educational purposes.  If you have questions or concerns about this article, 
please email us at wellness@dhrm.virginia.gov    
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